Return to a Constitutional Government

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the county. Supervisors are elected from five districts covering the county. They preside over a budget collected from ad valorem taxes on property.  Under Mississippi law, they can grant tax exemptions to develop infrastructure needed by new business development or improvement of existing industry.

Marshall County is divided into 5 Supervisor districts. Supervisors meet the 1st, 2nd, 3rd Monday of each month at 9 am in Courtroom B on Market St across from the Courthouse in the Holly Springs Square.

District 1
Charles Terry

District 2
Eddie D. Dixon

District 3
Keith Taylor

District 4
George Zinn, III

District 5
Ronnie Joe Bennett

Chancery Clerk
C.W. “Chuck” Thomas
Marshall County Courthouse,
P.O. Box 219
Holly Springs, MS 38635-0219

Circuit Clerk
Lucy Carpenter
P.O. Box 459
Holly Springs MS 38635
(662) 252-3434

Tax Collector
Betty Byrd
Tax Assessor
Juanita Dillard
103 S Market St #A
Holly Springs, MS 38635
(662) 252-6209

Kenneth A. Dickerson
P O Box 5100
Holly Springs, MS 38634

Within the city limits of Byhalia, Holly Springs and Potts Camp are also governed by boards of aldermen. In Holly Springs, aldermen represent four wards and one is elected at large. The mayor is elected in a citywide vote. In Potts Camp and Byhalia aldermen are all chosen by a citywide election. Boards of aldermen also are active in providing economic development assistance to prospective industry.

Holly Springs

Aldermen meet 1st, 2nd & 3rd Tuesday of each month 5:30 at City Hall, located at 160 South Memphis Street.

Mayor’s yearly salary  is $90,207.73 – designated as full-time position.  Aldermen Salary is $13,140.66 yearly.


Alderman Ward 1

Alderman Ward 2

Alderman Ward 3

Alderman Ward 4

Alderwoman at Large


Aldermen meet the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month at 5:30 at the town hall located at:

161 Highway 309 S
Byhalia, MS 38611
(662) 838-2135

Yearly salary  is $40,000 – The mayor’s position is not designated as full- or  part-time (no set hours), but is salaried near to a full-time position. Aldermen meet monthly and field constituent calls. Salary is $475 per month.


Alderman at Large

  • Mary Ann Cooper
  • Phone:
  • E-Mail:

Alderman at Large

Alderman at Large

  • Joe Tunstall
  • Phone: 901-827-3152

Alderman at Large

  • Mike Hamblin (I) Chose not to run as a Republican 2013
  • Phone: 662-838-6761
  • Email:

Alderman at Large

Potts Camp

Salary is only $2520 – mayor’s position is not designated as full- or  part-time. Alderman receive $1200 year compensation for fielding constituent calls and monthly meetings.


  • Mary Houston (Paula Mansel, City Clerk)
    149 Front St, Potts Camp, MS 38659
    Phone: 662-333-7625 P.O. Box 57, 17 S Center St, Potts Camp, MS 38659-0057
    Phone:(662) 838-2135
    Fax: (662) 838-3709

Alderman at Large

  • Wanda Love
  • 6931 Church St, Potts Camp, MS 38659
  • Phone: 662-504-4123

Alderman at Large

  • Herbert Luther
  • 77 Whaley Dr, Potts Camp, MS 38659
  • Phone: 662-216-9471

Alderwoman at Large

  • Dollean Porter
  • P O Box 113, Potts Camp, MS 38659
  • Phone: 662-544-1776

Alderman at Large

  • Robert Swinford
  • 86 E Pontotoc Ave, Potts Camp, MS 38659
  • Phone: 601-209-0907

Alderman at Large

  • Jimmy Collins
  • Phone: 662-333-9153

All Other County Officials 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

%d bloggers like this: